Fortnite’s New Arena Mode – Everything You Need To Know About Ranked Mode in Fortnite

Tired of ‘sweating’ with bots?

Or a newbie who is tired of being owned by child prodigies and streamers?

Then we have good news for you. Epic has finally added a ranked mode to segregate players based on their skill level.

What is the New Arena Mode

Arena mode is the latest addition to Fortnite, one that has been a long time coming. Players have been clamoring for a ranked mode for quite some time and Epic finally started listening.

Fortnite’s New Arena Ranking Mode

As the competitive scene grows in importance and more big names are drawn to tournaments, Epic needs a way to clearly delineate the best from the best.

Arena gives Epic a great new way to give the most competitive players a chance to shine, while preserving much of the core experience for casual gamers.

The Divisions

Like most other online games, Arena’s ranked mode is divided into a few smaller divisions. Divisions One to Three: These are called “Open League” and this is where each player starts their game.

The requirements to get through the Open League are pretty minimal and there are really no penalties for losing a match. It is very likely that most players will spend their entire career in these three Divisions.

Above the Open League are Divisions Four through Six, called the Contender League. These are the highest levels of competition, a level at which most experienced but non-professional players are likely to finish.

Playing Contender League gives you access to tournaments and special events, as well as unique rewards.

Players have to work hard to get through these divisions, and losses bring them back into the game.

Division Seven is also known as the Champions League.

Theoretically, this is where the pros will play and the level at which one can expect cash prizes.

The best players in this league are invited to the World Cup, so expect a significant amount of competition at the highest level here. Only the best can watch the Champions League competition.

Moving Up

As you can imagine, ranking in Arena is largely a matter of doing well in the game. Players receive a special points coin in Arena mode called ‘Hype’ and each level has its own Hype Threshold.

To make it to the Open League you need to get 25 hypes in as many games as it takes. To progress to the next level in each mode, you must reach a new Total Hype Threshold.

Fortnite’s New Arena Ranking Mode

The hype is not only used as a ranking currency, it is also used to get into the game as you progress through higher rounds. Once you get out of Division Three, you pay an increasing amount of Hype as a ‘Bus Fee’ for each match.

If you don’t score points in your match, you’ll walk away with a net loss in bus fare.

Whether you can fall out of range due to bus fare loss is unknown, but you can definitely find yourself coming back after a few rounds of poor performance.

The Differences Between Arena and Standard

While the basic difference between Arena and Standard is that only the above mode can be played ranked, it is important to remember that there are some key differences in the game.

With the push of 8.2, Fortnite has started to favor a much more conservative and methodical style of play due to a lower mate and lower kill health pool.

Arena, on the other hand, keeps the playstyle faster by having the old numbers when it comes to drops. This only makes a big difference to those who play at a high level, but it’s something that matters.

It is also good to note that there is currently no ranked squad.

Arena is solo and duo solo, so qualified players must adhere to the standard. It is not yet known whether Squad will simply remain standard or whether there will be an Arena Squad mode.

Reception of Arena Mode

The reception of the Arena mode has been mixed, especially given the reaction from the pros. While there are certainly a good number of amateur gamers who enjoy the game, the pros tend to universally dislike the new game mode.

There are a number of reasons why this could be the case, measuring everything that has been found on the internet about the mode so far.

To a large extent, however, it seems that professionals are uncomfortable with anything that makes a big difference to the way they make a living with live servers.

Fortnite’s New Arena Ranking Mode

Professional gamers, and especially professional streamers, occupy a very specific niche in the Fortnite community.

If something stops them from performing at their usual level, they have the potential to lose money. The Arena mode makes it very clear when they’re playing against players of their own caliber, so some of the best players will quickly find that they don’t look quite as impressive.

Others may find it more difficult to collect income, which could very well lead to them losing their views and income. It makes sense, then, that so many professionals are against adding this mode to the game.

In Conclusion

Arena is, deep down, something many Fortnite players have begged for. It’s hard to say how popular it will become and even harder to say how the professional scene will react to its implementation.

Players should expect it to grow and change over time, just like the rest of the game usually does. However, if you’re interested in competing at a higher level and showing off your skills, this is definitely the mode for you.

Look for more information about Arena and more changes that will be made available as the mode becomes a more normalized part of Fortnite.

FAQ’s Fortnite’s New Arena Ranking Mode

1. How do you rank up in Arena fortnite?

Scoring in Arena mode is uniform until you reach the highest league:
1. Victory Royale – You get 3 Hype points.
2. Reach Top 5 – Your reward is 2 Hype points.
3. Top 15 – 2 Hype points.
4. Reach Top 25 – This fairly minor accomplishment gives you 3 Hype Points.
5. Eliminations – Each kill is worth 1 Hype point

2. How does Fortnite ranking work?

Hype is the name for ranking points used to determine your Fortnite rank and league. In the Open League, it’s free to enter a match but in higher divisions, you must spend Hype Points to start a match and this is known as Bus Fare. You then earn Hype based on your performance.

3. Does Fortnite get harder as you level up?

Is it bad for Fortnite to be more difficult to level up? While it’s certainly annoying for players to deal with, it’s not all that bad. It’s true that there’s no reason for Epic to make this more difficult except to encourage players to spend more money on the game.

Standaard Skin 4 Life

View the author’s posts

Leave a Comment